Coffee Truck Blues

May 23, 2015:  Barry Cauchon

174. Catering Truck Dining (03Aug90)

We’ve all been there … in line somewhere (grocery store, movies, etc.) and someone in front of us seems to take longer to do their business than usual.  It just happened to me today at a check out counter at a hardware store.  The customer wasn’t at fault (they just needed something oversized that wasn’t on the floor).  The check out clerk wasn’t at fault (they were being pleasant, ringing in the order, taking payment and calling for the stock boy to bring up the large item the folks had just bought).  It wasn’t my fault either.  I just wanted to pay for my ‘small’ item and go.  But this particular transaction took ten minutes!  As this was a small store, no other cashier was available and I was the only other customer trying to check out.  So with none of us at fault, why was I so frustrated with the delay and angry at the customer in front of me, angry at the check out clerk, angry at the store and even angry at myself for waiting so long rather than just leaving?

I know why.  It is because I’ve been in that customer’s position before.  I’ve been the clerk in that situation as well.  And I’ve also been involved in a business transaction where I had to keep focused on what I was doing and unable to assist or take on anyone or anything else at that moment.  In the end, I still cashed out (in actually 8-1/2 minutes … but it seemed like 10!!! … LOL). The check out clerk was apologetic and very pleasant.  She wished me a good day, too.  And that was kind of nice.  Had I left in a huff earlier, I would not have gotten to watch the transaction in front of me, gotten to speak with the pleasant clerk and have her wish me a good day.  I would have just been sour for the day and still not have the small item I originally went to the store for.

A little patience is a good thing.  Being able to keep calm during a frustrating situation is even a better thing.  I need to remember that.  I always think I am calm and collected yet I feel that I failed this time.  Practice what I preach. SMILE!  SMILE!  SMILE!

HAVE A GREAT, SUPER-DELUXE, OVER THE TOP, ZIPPITY-DO-DAH DAY!

🙂
Barry

Leave a comment